This is only true in the sense that you have the control to choose to hand over control to the nostr nodes.
After you post something to a node, you have zero control. The node effectively owns it at that point because only they can delete it.
I think users intuitively understand that if you can’t delete it, you don’t really own it.
I wish Nostr would get better PR around this. It can be useful for certain use cases, but not for public social media (maybe unless you’re posting completely innocuous things like “the sky is blue”)
This is only true in the sense that you have the control to choose to hand over control to the nostr nodes.
After you post something to a node, you have zero control. The node effectively owns it at that point because only they can delete it.
I think users intuitively understand that if you can’t delete it, you don’t really own it.
I wish Nostr would get better PR around this. It can be useful for certain use cases, but not for public social media (maybe unless you’re posting completely innocuous things like “the sky is blue”)